Saratoga Music Festival / Mozart Clarinet Concerto

8:00 pm
Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Ricardo Morales
Saratoga Music Festival / Mozart Clarinet Concerto


Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor
Ricardo Morales, clarinet

Frank                          Selections from Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout*
Mozart                        Clarinet Concerto
Farrenc                       Symphony No. 2*

Approximately 90 minutes long with no intermission.


The Philadelphia Orchestra’s Composer-in-Residence, Gabriela Lena Frank, who is widely celebrated for exploring her multicultural heritage through her work, mixed elements from the western classical and Andean folk music traditions in Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout. Frank says that Leyendas “draws inspiration from the idea of mestizaje, a mixing of ethnic and cultural groups, as envisioned by the Peruvian writer José María Arguedas, where cultures can coexist without the subjugation of one by the other. As such, this piece brings together elements from the Western classical and Andean folk music traditions.”

The work will receive its SPAC premiere in this concert alongside Mozart’s beloved Clarinet Concerto, performed by Philadelphia Orchestra Principal Clarinet Ricardo Morales. Another SPAC premiere and a piece that is “unjustly-underperformed” according to Maestro Nézet-Séguin, is Louise Farrenc’s stunning Symphony No. 2 from 1845, which closes the evening.

*indicates SPAC Premiere
All programs subject to change.

© VIENNA MUSIC CO. All rights reserved. - Powered by Intonet Solution